Logo Tafalgie Therapeutics

Tafalgie therapeutics team’s

5 founders

Eric schettini

Investor Biotech
Entrepreneur successful IPOs
25 years experience

stephane gaillard

General Manager
Pain research
Mice models

aziz moqrich

Specialist of the peripheral nervous system
Publication in international journals

olivier blin

Chairman of the COMEX
Professor of Clinical pharmacology (AMU)
Past positions: regulatory (ANMS)
Industrial (GSK)

laurent labatut

Chairman of the board
Chemical Industry Strategic positions in Marketing Management

The Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee, chaired by Aziz Moqrich, is a collegial advisory body and does not constitute a management body. Its mission is to advise the Chairman and other senior managers of the company in defining and implementing the company’s strategic orientations, to ensure the quality, legitimacy and consistency of its research and development activities and to monitor developments in science.

Honorary President

Ardem Patapoutian

Ardem Patapoutian is a molecular biologist specializing in sensory transduction.

His research has led to the identification of novel ion channels and receptors activated by temperature, mechanical force, and increased cell volume. His laboratory has shown that these ion channels play crucial roles in sensing temperature, touch, proprioception, pain, and regulating vascular tone. 

Patapoutian was born in Lebanon in 1967 and attended the American University of Beirut for one year before he immigrated to The United States in 1986 and became a US citizen. He graduated from UCLA in 1990 and received his Ph.D. at Caltech in the lab of Dr. Barbara Wold in 1996. 

After postdoctoral work with Dr. Lou Reichardt at UCSF, he joined the faculty of Scripps Research in 2000, where he is currently a Professor in the Department of Neuroscience. He also held a position at the Genomics Institute of The Novartis Research Foundation from 2000-2014. 

Patapoutian was awarded the Young Investigator Award from the Society for Neuroscience in 2006 and was named an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute in 2014. 

He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2016), a member of the National Academy of Sciences (2017) and a member of American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2020). He is a co-recipient of the 2017 Alden Spencer Award from Columbia (with David Ginty), the 2019 Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Research (with David Julius), the 2020 Kavli Prize in Neuroscience (with David Julius), the 2021 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award (shared with David Julius), and the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (with David Julius).

2021 : Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (with David Julius)

Jon Levine


Prof. Levine’s study represents the point where « placebo biology » was born.

Jean-Louis Kraus

Professor Emeritus at the University of Aix Marseille and former Professor at McGill University Montreal Canada

Through his experience, Prof. Kraus has developed great networks during his career marked by commercial successes.


DR. Clifford J. Woolf is professor of neurology and neurobiology at Harvard Medical School and Director of the F.M Kirby Neurobiology Center at Boston Children's Hospital. He has added greatly to the understanding of pain.

DR. CLIFFORD J. WOOLF was born in South Africa, where he earned his MB, BCh, and Ph.D. degrees. He then moved to London and became Professor of Neurobiology at University College London. In 1997 he was recruited by the Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School to serve as the Richard J. Kitz Professor of Anesthesiology Research. 

  • In 2010 he was named director of the F. M. Kirby Neurobiology Center at Boston Children’s Hospital and became Professor of Neurology and Neurobiology at HMS. He is faculty both in the department of Neurobiology at Harvard Medical School and in the Harvard Stem Cell Institute. Over his career, Dr. Woolf has received many honors and prizes. 
  • In 2020 he was elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and was awarded a Doctoris Honoris Causa from the University of Lausanne, Switzerland, he received a Gill Distinguished Scientist award and the Reeve-Irvine medal in 2017, and in 2015, the Kerr award from the American Pain Society.


Dr. Woolf was appointed to the Board of Scientific Councilors of the National Institute of Neurological Diseases and Stroke from 2015 to 2019 and is currently a member of the NIH HEAL Partnership Committee for the development of new treatments for pain and addiction. He has published over 300 research papers on molecular, cellular, and systems neurobiology and has more than 30 issued patents. 

His research is devoted to investigating how the functional, chemical and stuctural plasticity of neurons is involved in both the normal adaptive functions of the nervous systems and in maladaptive changes that contribute to neurological diseases, with a particular focus on pain, regeneration and neurodegeneration and on the exploitation of stem celle derived neurons to model disease and for a drug screening.

Alain Eschalier

Professor Emeritus at the University of Aix Marseille and former Professor at McGill University Montreal Canada

Prof. Eschalier is developing his research on the preclinical and clinical pharmacology of analgesics and the pathophysiology of chronic pain.


Tafalgie Therapeutics has brought together a world-class team of scientists, engineers, legal and regulatory experts, financiers, operational managers…

laure lo ré

Neuroscience – PHD

catarina santos

Neuroscience – PHD

joanie delbano

Immunology Pharmacist

lucas Cortial

PHD Student Pharmaceutical Sciences

Caroline Mathon

General Secretary

emma schettini


Cyril Ducamin


mathilde schettini


Laurent Labatut – Chairman on the board

Discover the key milestones in the progress of the Tafalgie project

for more information


Follow-us to know the actuality

Eric Schettini


Stephane Gaillard

General Manager

Aziz Moqrich


After a PhD in neuroscience at Marseille, he became one of the specialists of the peripheral nervous system during his stay in the laboratory of the Pr Ardem Patapoutian in San Diego.

He came back to France in 2005, to build his own team, at the IBDM laboratory, focused on the identification of new molecular markers of sensory neurons.

Several projects led to publications in major international journals (Nature, Cell Reports, Science).
He is the chairman of the scientific council committee.

Olivier Blin

President of the Executive Committee

Professor of clinical pharmacology (AMU), past Visiting Prof at Imperial College (London), Olivier joined the company in 2022.

He has a large experience in drug development (past Head of Unit Physician at GSK, global early CNS drug development), public affairs (past member of the Board of the French Minister of Health) and regulatory affairs (past member of the Clinical Trial Committee at French Drug Agency) as well as Public-Private Partnerships (past member of IMI scientific committee in Bruxelles).

Laurent Labatut

Chairman on the board

Graduated from HEC then from Insead, he has held strategic positions in marketing, finance and general management (Danone, Ricard, Groupe Gascogne).

Notably, he was the CEO of the DRT group, one of the world leaders in phytochemistry (1,500 employees, turnover of 550 million euros).

He has a global vision of the world of chemistry and innovation as a business leader.